JNTU Hyderabad runs two external PhD programmes of its own, one for college, government and industry staff and one for industrial executives with five years in the same organisation. With Osmania University’s part-time category, BITS Pilani’s part-time and Aspirant schemes and external seats in some IIT Hyderabad departments, they are how people in Hyderabad do a PhD while keeping a job. The University of Hyderabad offered no part-time seats in its 2026-27 notifications, and IIIT Hyderabad asks working people to start with individual courses first.
Clause 13 of the UGC 2022 regulations is what permits a part-time PhD at all; our PhD admission in India guide explains it. Full-time selection in the city is on our PhD admission in Hyderabad page, and the fellowship-only labs on research institutes in Hyderabad. Last reviewed September 2026.
Which Hyderabad institutions take part-time or external PhD scholars in 2026?
Six routes are open to someone employed in the city. They differ most in how much time they take out of your working year.
| Institution and route | Who qualifies | What it asks of your working year | Tuition, 2026-27 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Osmania University, part-time research scholar | Employed in an organisation connected to your subject, with an NOC; admitted through the Category-II entrance. | Six months of leave for coursework on campus. Minimum five years. | ₹25,000 or ₹30,000 a year, by faculty |
| JNTUH, External Ph.D. | Staff of industries, R&D units, government bodies and affiliated colleges. | Research at your workplace if it has the facilities; JNTUH supervisors may visit. | ₹30,000 a year |
| JNTUH, External Ph.D. for Industrial Executives | Five years in the same organisation, in work relevant to the research. | No written test. Coursework on campus or through MOOCs. | ₹60,000 a year |
| IIT Hyderabad, External PhD | Set by each department. | Varies by department. | Not stated |
| BITS Pilani (Hyderabad campus), part-time and Aspirant | Part-time: a year’s related experience. Aspirant: an employer that already works with BITS. | Aspirants research at their workplace. | Not stated |
| IIIT Hyderabad, PGSSP (courses, not yet a PhD) | Hyderabad residents with an employer NOC. | One or two courses a semester, weekday classes. | ₹50,000 a semester plus ₹50,000 a course |
If you teach in a JNTUH-affiliated engineering or pharmacy college, the external programme usually fits, because you can research in your own institution. In a government department in a science or social-science role, Osmania is likelier, if your office can release you for a semester. People in the city’s IT and pharma companies should look first at the Industrial Executives route and at BITS.
Why does an Osmania part-time PhD need six months of leave?
Because Osmania teaches its coursework for one full semester and expects part-timers to attend. Rule 20.1 of the 2026-27 rules says part-time scholars take the six months’ leave promised in their NOC. The coursework is four papers of 60 contact hours each: Research and Publication Ethics, Research Methodology, an advanced paper in your subject, and a two-credit paper on artificial intelligence. You need 55% in each three-hour paper (rule 21.5), and two failed attempts cancel the registration (rule 21.6). Our coursework and RPE guide covers what such papers contain.
Other things to weigh before you apply:
- Five years, not three. Rule 15.3 fixes the part-time tenure at five years from the date you report to the Dean. Full-time scholars need four.
- No hostel. Part-time scholars are not eligible for one (rule 15.4(b)).
- No part-time route through Category-I. JRF holders admitted under Category-I must stay full-time (rule 13.1). If you already have a job, apply through the Category-II entrance.
- A job midway means converting (rule 13.4), and the remaining tenure becomes five years minus the time already spent (rule 19.1).
One ambiguity is worth raising with the Directorate of Admissions before you pay. Rule 15.2 speaks of candidates “employed in organizations” related to their subject, but the NOC wording in rule 15.4 refers to the competent authority of a State or Central government department. If you work in the private sector, get the answer in writing. The thesis rules at the end are in our Osmania thesis format guide.
How do JNTUH’s two external routes differ for college staff and industry?
Both external routes use the same 2026-27 portal, which opened on 23 September 2026 with 17 October as the last date without a late fee, but they are built for different people.
External Ph.D.
The External Ph.D. notice is for people in R&D units, industries, government organisations, research bodies and colleges affiliated to a university. You continue to work. College teachers must do the research either in their own institution or in a JNTUH constituent college with the facilities.
- Entrance. NET, SLET, GATE, GPAT or an M.Phil. exempts you; others take the university’s test.
- Supervisors. You list up to two JNTUH professors and up to two affiliated-college principals, after asking each of them orally. The notice names 38 principals whose supervisor recognition was ratified conditionally because they had not yet guided two scholars; most are in pharmacy and mechanical engineering. A principal as supervisor means a JNTUH co-supervisor too.
- Paperwork. A plan of work of at least 500 words showing a preliminary study already begun, details of the research facilities at your workplace, and the organisation’s registration certificate.
You may apply for full-time and external in the same cycle and state which you prefer if selected for both.
External Ph.D. for Industrial Executives
The Industrial Executives notice is the route for senior people in companies. It is addressed to executives of organisations with an MoU with JNTUH. You need five years in the same organisation, in work relevant to the research, and JNTUH recommends an academic agreement between your employer and the department through its University Industry Interaction Cell. There is no written test. You present your proposal with slides, and the interview scores your degrees and publications. Coursework can be done on campus or through MOOCs. Fees: ₹5,000 to apply, ₹5,000 at admission and ₹60,000 a year.
Both routes end in the same thesis rules as a full-time JNTUH PhD; our JNTU thesis format guide sets them out.
Which IIT Hyderabad departments take external PhD scholars?
IIT Hyderabad lists an External category in its institute-wide eligibility sheet for July 2026, but the departments decide the details, and they differ a great deal:
- Artificial Intelligence admits candidates employed full-time. An M.Tech. or M.S. with a first class qualifies; a B.Tech., MCA or M.Sc. needs a valid GATE score or two years of relevant work. Employment is required at application and at admission, and the NOC goes in with the application.
- Entrepreneurship and Management calls it “External (Part-time)/Industry Sponsored”: an MBA, M.Com., M.Tech. or equivalent, 60% in both degrees, current employment and at least seven years of work experience.
- Liberal Arts did not offer the external category in the July 2026 round.
Two institute rules apply everywhere. First class means 60% or a CGPA of 6. And the cut-off relaxation for SC, ST and OBC candidates does not apply to the external category. Most departments closed their July 2026 applications on 5 May, and Electrical Engineering expected the January 2027 cycle to open in October 2026. Read your own department’s brochure line by line before you ask your employer for anything.
Can IIIT Hyderabad’s course-only PGSSP lead to a PhD?
It can, and IIIT Hyderabad recommends it. Its advice to professionals is to join first through the Post Graduate Student Status Programme, take one or two courses a semester, and move into a part-time or full-time degree if the courses go well. The courses then count towards the degree. For a research degree it adds a second step: meet the faculty in your area and discuss a research plan, or do a project with one of them.
The PGSSP terms for Monsoon 2026 were strict about presence. You must live in Hyderabad, attend weekday classes (Monday to Saturday, two or three times a week per course) and bring an NOC that lets you attend during office hours. Two courses cost ₹1,60,000 at reporting, including a ₹10,000 refundable deposit.
The research round it ran for Spring 2026 invited part-time PhD applications alongside full-time ones; shortlisted people sat a written test on campus and then a technical interview.
Where do BITS Hyderabad and the University of Hyderabad stand?
BITS Pilani. Its PhD call covers Pilani, Goa and Hyderabad together, and you name the campus you prefer. Part-time applicants need a year of experience in a related field, preferably with an employer that provides basic research facilities. The separate Aspirant scheme stays open all year for staff of organisations that already work with BITS through Practice School, research or its work-integrated programmes. You need a higher degree with 60%, a BITS supervisor (your co-supervisor can be from work) and an NOC, and you must pass the PhD qualifying examination within two semesters of shortlisting. Without an existing link to BITS, the application waits until one is made.
University of Hyderabad. Neither the July 2026 entrance notification nor the September 2026 NET notification offered part-time seats. Its adopted regulations allow part-time study in principle, but the working rules (from its Academic Council of 17 December 2021) are about converting: a full-time scholar who has finished coursework, completed a year of registration and found regular employment may switch, pays a one-time conversion fee of ₹5,000 and then ₹5,000 a semester in addition to the regular fee, and must present progress to the Research Advisory Committee every semester. That suits someone who can study full-time now and expects a job later. For someone already employed, it is not a way in.
How does the NOC wording differ between Osmania, JNTUH and IIT Hyderabad?
An NOC written for one of these will not satisfy another. Ask for the right one the first time.
- Osmania: the NOC comes from the competent authority where you work and must say, in the words of rule 15.4, that you may undergo the mandatory six months of coursework on the university campus and that the leave will be sanctioned. It also confirms that your duties leave time for research.
- JNTUH External: the Head of the Organisation signs, on letterhead with a contact number and email, that you may use the organisation’s facilities for the PhD and that JNTUH supervisors may visit to monitor the work. Add the organisation’s registration certificate and number of employees.
- JNTUH Industrial Executives: the same letterhead NOC, plus details of the research facilities at your workplace and a plan of work showing that you have already started a preliminary study.
- IIT Hyderabad: Artificial Intelligence wants the NOC with the application; Entrepreneurship and Management accepts it at the interview.
Sources
- Osmania University, Ph.D. Rules and Regulations 2026-2027 (PDF)
- JNTUH, External Ph.D. 2026-27 (PDF)
- JNTUH, External Ph.D. for Industrial Executives 2026-27 (PDF)
- JNTUH Directorate of Admissions, Ph.D. 2026-27
- IIT Hyderabad, PhD eligibility criteria, July 2026 (PDF)
- IIT Hyderabad, AI department PhD brochure, July 2026 (PDF)
- IIT Hyderabad, EM department PhD brochure, July 2026 (PDF)
- IIT Hyderabad, Liberal Arts PhD brochure, July 2026 (PDF)
- IIIT Hyderabad, PGSSP, Monsoon 2026
- IIIT Hyderabad, Part-time programmes and PGSSP
- IIIT Hyderabad, research admissions for Spring 2026
- BITS Pilani, Ph.D. admission brochure, first semester 2026-27 (PDF)
- BITS Pilani, Ph.D. Aspirant Scheme (PDF)
- University of Hyderabad, Ph.D. regulations as adopted on 6 April 2023 (PDF)
- University of Hyderabad, Ph.D. admission notification, July 2026 session (PDF)
FAQ
Questions scholars ask
Will Osmania accept a part-time scholar who works for a private company?
Rule 15.2 admits people employed in organisations connected to their subject, which reads wide enough. But the NOC wording in rule 15.4 names the competent authority of a State or Central government department, and it must promise six months of leave for coursework on campus. Ask the Directorate of Admissions in writing whether a private employer’s NOC is accepted before you pay the entrance fee.
Can I get into JNTUH’s External Ph.D. without NET or GATE?
Yes. Without NET, SLET, GATE, GPAT or an M.Phil., you sit JNTUH’s own entrance first; the qualifying marks are on our Hyderabad admission page. The Industrial Executives route has no written test at all.
If I find a job during a University of Hyderabad PhD, can I stay registered?
Yes, by converting to part-time. A full-time scholar may convert after finishing coursework and a year of registration, once regularly employed, and then pays ₹5,000 a semester extra. It is no way in for someone already working, though: the 2026-27 notifications had no part-time seats.
Do I have to attend classes on campus for the JNTUH Industrial Executives PhD?
Not necessarily. The 2026-27 notice lets scholars in this category complete coursework either on campus or through MOOCs, within the set time. Research review meetings, the colloquium and the viva follow the normal JNTUH rules.
