How many papers does each Thiruvananthapuram institution want before the synopsis?
Five bodies award most PhDs in the city. No two of them count papers the same way. The table gives each rule as written. Where a document says nothing, the table says so.
| Awarding body | Papers its document asks for | Journals accepted | Authorship condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| KTU | One journal paper (not a review or survey) plus one conference paper, published or accepted, before the synopsis | SCI, SCIE, SSCI (management) or Scopus; a journal that charges fees counts only if it is also in SCI, SCIE or SSCI | First or corresponding author, with KTU named as an affiliation |
| University of Kerala | None stated in the PhD Regulations 2022 | Not stated | Not stated |
| KUHS (city medical, nursing and pharmacy colleges) | One paper plus one conference presentation, or two papers, from the PhD work | Peer-reviewed, indexed journals approved by the Board of Studies | Reprint appended to the thesis |
| IISER Thiruvananthapuram | At least one published or accepted paper covering a third of the thesis, before the synopsis | Journals on the School’s own list, kept free of predatory titles | Major contributor or lead author |
| IIST | At least two papers published or accepted | Refereed journals of repute; the Doctoral Committee judges quality | First author |
The UGC’s 2022 regulations dropped the national rule to publish before submitting. The University of Kerala wrote its regulations to match, so they are silent. Our guide to PhD publication requirements explains the national picture. But the institutes and the technical university kept their own rules. Those are what you actually have to meet in Thiruvananthapuram. We found no publication count in SCTIMST’s thesis guidelines. They ask only for a list of publications from the thesis, with copies of the papers in an appendix. So ask your DAC what it expects.
Why should a KTU scholar check more than the Scopus badge?
Clause 19 of KTU’s 2023 regulations has more conditions than most scholars at CET, GEC Barton Hill or Mar Baselios realise. A paper can be indexed in Scopus and still not count.
- Fees. A paid journal indexed in Scopus counts only if it is also indexed in SCI, SCIE or, for management, SSCI (clause 19.2). A Scopus journal with an article processing charge and no Web of Science listing does not meet the rule. Our SCI and SCIE guide shows how to check the Web of Science side.
- Paper type. Review and survey papers do not count, and micro-articles do not qualify either (clause 19.6).
- Your position. You must be first or corresponding author of every paper you claim (clause 19.4). KTU must also appear among your affiliations, alongside your place of research (clause 19.3).
- Shared papers. A paper that earns one scholar the PhD can’t be claimed by a co-author scholar. Does your work continue a project? Then you may include the joint paper, but you still need your own first- or corresponding-author paper (clause 19.5).
- Patents. A granted patent can stand in for publications. A patent application is another matter. It needs the University’s consent, it lists the Registrar as assignee, and it should be filed provisionally before you publish (clause 19.1).
Timing matters too. You need one paper published or accepted before your second seminar. At the synopsis meeting, the Doctoral Committee verifies your conference and journal papers. How much weight does KTU put on this? Look at its 2025–26 admission notification. An applicant whose degree carries no CGPA or percentage can still apply with one SCI, SCIE, SSCI or unpaid Scopus paper as first or corresponding author. Admission details are in our engineering PhD in Thiruvananthapuram guide.
If Kerala University asks for no paper, why publish, and what does KUHS require?
The University of Kerala’s PhD Regulations 2022 set coursework, a pre-submission presentation and a plagiarism undertaking. They say nothing about journal papers. Your Doctoral Committee may still expect one. And many Kerala University scholars want a paper for later teaching or post-doctoral applications. The university’s own research policy document says it gives research students publication grants. It says it works with Scopus and Web of Science to raise the quality of output. But the document carries a disclaimer that it is not binding. Treat the silence in the regulations as freedom to choose a good journal. It isn’t permission to publish anywhere.
KUHS is different. Its PhD regulations, published in the Kerala Gazette on 22 October 2021, make publication a condition of submission (clause 12.2). You need two things from your PhD work. The first is one presentation at a national or international conference or seminar approved by your department. The second is at least one paper from your research, in a peer-reviewed, indexed journal approved by the Board of Studies, either published or accepted. The reprint is appended to the thesis. A second paper can replace the conference presentation. The regulation says “indexed” without naming Scopus, so the Board of Studies list is what counts. If you’re a medical or nursing scholar in Thiruvananthapuram, check that list before you pick a journal, not after acceptance.
What do IISER Thiruvananthapuram and IIST count, and do they help with charges?
IISER Thiruvananthapuram. The 2023–25 PhD guide book requires at least one paper before you submit the synopsis. It can be published or just accepted. You must be a major contributor or lead author. That paper must cover at least a third of the work in the thesis. It must also appear in a “recognised journal”. That means one on the list each School prepares and keeps editing “taking due care to avoid all predatory journals”. The chairman of your Doctoral Committee certifies compliance with the synopsis. The School of Chemistry goes further and uses impact factors. It accepts any one of these:
- one first-authored paper with an impact factor above 7.0
- one first-authored paper and two co-authored papers with a cumulative impact factor above about 9.0
- a patent with you as the primary inventor, plus two co-authored papers with a cumulative impact factor above about 5.0.
Review articles don’t count towards those figures. If your School measures journals this way, a Scopus listing tells you little. Our impact factor and quartile guide explains what does.
IIST. The October 2025 guide book wants at least two papers with your name as first author. They must be published or accepted in refereed journals of repute. The Doctoral Committee has the final word on journal quality. You list the papers in your synopsis. IIST’s research policy also offers article processing charges for peer-reviewed papers. A committee decides, after it reviews the accepted paper and the journal’s standard. The policy funds one international conference, too, for a PhD scholar who already has a peer-reviewed journal paper. So ask before you pay a charge yourself.
Every one of these rules assumes a genuine journal. A cloned website or a hijacked title fails all of them. Our predatory journal guide shows the checks.
Working with us from Trivandrum
First comes a video call on your results and the rule you are writing for. Then we agree a written scope. In Thiruvananthapuram, that rule filters the journal shortlist before anything else:
- For KTU, we check every journal for SCI or SCIE coverage and for charges. A fee-charging Scopus-only title fails clause 19.2. We also remind you to add KTU as an affiliation and to settle authorship order before submission.
- For IISER, we match the shortlist against your School’s current list. In chemistry, we match it against the impact-factor route you’re aiming at, too.
- For KUHS, we match it against the Board of Studies list you get from your department.
- For IIST, we plan two first-author papers from the chapters that can stand alone. And we point you to the article processing charge committee before you pay a fee.
We work on your manuscript in tracked changes. When reviewers write back, we help you draft the reply. Deadlines here are usually a KTU second seminar, an IISER synopsis or a KUHS submission date. Peer review takes months. So tell us that date at the first call, and we’ll say honestly whether it is reachable.
Scope, stages, quality checks, timelines and pricing are the same wherever you are: Scopus Publication Support.
Sources
- KTU, Regulations for the award of the Degree of Doctor of Philosophy, 2023, U.O. No. 1166/2023/KTU, clause 19 on publication of research output (PDF)
- KTU, PhD admission notification 2025–26, KTU/RESEARCH5/1066/2025, 30 April 2025 (PDF)
- University of Kerala, Regulations for Award of Ph.D. Degree, 2022 (scanned PDF)
- University of Kerala, Research Policy document, with its non-binding disclaimer (PDF)
- Kerala University of Health Sciences, PhD regulations, Kerala Gazette of 22 October 2021, clause 12.2 (PDF)
- IISER Thiruvananthapuram, Guide book of regulations for the Ph.D. programme, 2023–24 and 2024–25 (PDF)
- IIST, PhD Rules, Regulations and Guidelines, October 2025, clause 3.1.4.4 (PDF)
- IIST, Research Policy Document 2022–2023: publication and conference grants (PDF)
- SCTIMST, Guidelines for PhD thesis preparation and submission: list of publications annexure (PDF)
FAQ
Questions scholars in Trivandrum ask
My KTU paper is in a Scopus journal that charged an APC. Will it count?
Under clause 19.2 of KTU’s 2023 regulations, only if the journal is also indexed in SCI, SCIE or, for management, SSCI. Check the Web of Science Master Journal List before you rely on it, and ask your Doctoral Committee if the listing is unclear.
I am second author on a lab paper. Can I use it for my KTU PhD?
Only if you are the corresponding author. KTU requires first or corresponding authorship for every paper you claim, and a paper already used by another scholar cannot be claimed again. Our authorship guide explains the roles.
Does the University of Kerala require a Scopus paper before thesis submission?
Not under its PhD Regulations 2022, which set no publication requirement. Your supervisor or Doctoral Committee may still recommend one, so ask what they expect.
Will you write the paper from my thesis chapter?
No. You write it. We help with structure, language, journal fit and the reviewer response. Every rule on this page assumes you are the real author. KTU and IIST go further and make you first author.
Does IIST pay publication charges?
Its research policy says a committee reviews the accepted paper and the journal’s standard before recommending funding for the article processing charge. Ask your department before committing to a fee.

